top of page

About Me

Image by Zulnureen Shariff

Mark Wightman

+Author_Face_Grey copy.jpg

I grew up in the Far East – first in Hong Kong and then in Singapore, where I rode and trained horses competitively. Since then I've lived and worked in Scotland, England, the Netherlands, and New Zealand, where I am now a citizen. My debut novel -- WAKING THE TIGER -- was published by Hobeck Books in June 2021. WAKING THE TIGER is the first instalment in the Inspector Betancourt series, in which Betancourt battles skulduggery and corruption and searches for justice in colonial Singapore. In 2022, it was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger 2022 and the Ngaio Marsh Best First Novel Award. In 2021 it was shortlisted for the Bloody Scotland Scottish Crime Debut of the Year and longlisted for the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year. It previously won the Pitch Perfect competition at the Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival.

The story continues with CHASING THE DRAGON, which will be published in September 2023.

bottom of page