top of page
  • Writer's pictureMark

Awards News! Waking the Tiger Longlisted for the 2021 McIlvanney Prize

Updated: May 25, 2023

I'm delighted to be able to share the news that my debut novel Waking the Tiger had been longlisted for the 2021 McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Group of the Year. To see my name alongside such great writers for the prize that is named for the godfather of Scottish crime writing is an honour, and I'd like to extend my warmest congratulations to all the other longlisted authors.

Bob McDevitt, Director of Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival said: "The McIlvanney Prize longlist once again reaffirms that our crime readers love great books

by well-loved authors they are familiar with but are always on the lookout for new voices and

new ways to tell a crime story. It's a testament to the breadth and depth of Scottish crime


Adrian Hobart from publishers Hobeck Books added: "We're thrilled for Mark. The moment we read the manuscript for Waking the Tiger we knew we had to publish it. Mark's writing is so vivid and compelling, conjuring up the smells, atmosphere and tension of wartime Singapore, and in creating Betancourt, we have a new flawed hero to match the likes of Rebus and Roy Grace. This nomination is richly deserved, and a huge accolade for us at Hobeck Books, less than a year since we launched the business."

22 views0 comments


bottom of page